No matter how safe you try to be on the road, another driver’s mistake can lead to a wreck in a matter of seconds. After a crash caused by another driver, you will most likely need to file an insurance claim.
Their policy should reimburse you for the damage they caused to your vehicle and also for any injuries you suffered. Unfortunately, California law does not mandate very much insurance, which might mean that you have uncovered losses.
Liability coverage can help protect you
To legally drive in California, a person needs at least $5,000 worth of property damage liability coverage. They also need to have at least $15,000 worth of bodily injury liability protection if the crash only hurts one person. No matter how many expenses you have from the crash, you can only receive the maximum amount of coverage included in the policy of the other driver.
Even a minor fender bender could produce more expenses than an insurance policy will cover in California, but serious injuries affecting the brain or spinal cord will almost certainly cost more than the insurance company will pay.
What other protections are available?
If you have underinsured motorist, collision or comprehensive coverage on your policy, you may be able to make a claim against your own insurance coverage for your collision-related losses. If you do not have that supplemental coverage on your own policy, then the only choice may be to file a civil lawsuit against the other driver when you have uncovered crash-related expenses.
Understanding the basics of California insurance coverage can help you better protect yourself after a motor vehicle collision.